Rakesh Garg loses Telecom Secretary post as Modi government reshuffles top bureaucrats

New Delhi: Telecom Secretary Rakesh Garg was on Friday shunted out to Minority Affairs Ministry as part of a top-level bureaucratic reshuffle, 10 months ahead of his retirement.

JS Deepak has been appointed as the new secretary, Department of Telecommunications. Deepak, a 1982 batch IAS officer of Uttar Pradesh cadre, is at present Secretary, Department of Electronics and Information Technology.

Garg, a 1980 batch IAS officer, has been appointed Secretary in Minority Affairs Ministry in place of Amarendra Sinha, who is holding additional charge of the post, an order issued on Friday by Personnel Ministry said, without mentioning the reason for Garg's exit from the high-profile ministry.

Rakesh Garg. PTI

Rakesh Garg. PTI

Garg had taken over as Telecom Secretary on 17 July, 2014 and is due to retire in November.

Aruna Sharma, at present working in her cadre state Madhya Pradesh, has been appointed Secretary, Department of Electronics and Information Technology, in place of Deepak, it said.

As many as 10 new secretaries have been appointed in various central government ministries and other organisations.

Krishan Kumar Jalan, who is Central Provident Fund Commissioner in Employees' Provident Fund Organisation, has been appointed as Secretary, Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises.

Shobhana K Pattanayak has been made the new Secretary, Department of Agriculture, Cooperation and Farmers Welfare, in place of Siraj Hussain, on his superannuation at the end of this month.

Avinash K Srivastava, a 1982 batch IAS officer, has been appointed Secretary, Ministry of Food Processing, the release said. Srivastava is Special Secretary, Department of Agriculture, Cooperation and Farmers Welfare.

Vinod Agrawal, Secretary, National Commission for Scheduled Castes (NCSC), has been made Secretary, Department of Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities. Shyam S Agarwal, Secretary of National Commission for Scheduled Tribes (NCST), has been appointed as Secretary, Ministry of Tribal Affairs.

Tribal Affairs Secretary Arun Jha has been appointed new Secretary of NCSC. Agarwal has been given additional charge of NCST for a period of three months or till the appointment of a regular incumbent, it said.


Updated Date: Jan 29, 2016 19:34 PM

Also Watch

IPL 2018: Royal Challengers Bangalore eye revival against Chennai Super Kings as 'Cauvery Derby' comes back to life
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Tuesday, April 24, 2018 It's A Wrap: Beyond the Clouds stars Ishaan Khatter, Malavika Mohanan in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See