Mizoram Election Results: Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla loses in both Champhai South and Serchhip constituencies

Three-time Mizoram chief minister Lal Thanhawla received a twin blow on Tuesday as he lost in both the constituencies of Champhai South and Serchhip. While in Champhai South he lost to Mizo National Front's (MNF) TJ Lalnuntluanga by 856 votes, in Serchhip he was defeated by Zoram People's Movement (ZPM)'s chief ministerial candidate Lalduhoma.

File image of Mizoram Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla. PTI

File image of Mizoram Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla. PTI

The Mizo National Front (MNF) is surging ahead having a lead in 18 of the 40 seats in Mizoram Assembly while the ruling Congress is trailing way behind, according to the latest reports available at 12:14 pm. The MNF has won three seats so far while leading in many.

The Congress is leading in four constituencies, Election Commission sources said. The BJP is leading in one seat.

Finance minister Lalsawta is trailing in the prestigious Aizawl East-II behind MNF nominee Robert Romawia Royte.

BJP candidate and former minister Buddha Dhan Chakma is leading by over 1,000 votes against MNF nominee RM Chakma in Tuichawng seat in south Mizoram's Lawngtlai district.

The landlocked Mizoram in the North East has 40 Assembly constituencies spread across eight districts, out of which 39 seats are reserved for scheduled tribes, while one is for the general category.

MNF the regional political party, formed the government in twice, first in 1986 and then in 1998. However, it lost the 2008 elections and won only three seats.

Currently, it's a part of the North-East Regional Political Front, which supports the Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

With agency inputs

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Dec 11, 2018 13:28 PM

Also See