Mizoram election result: Cong wins 14 seats, leading in 5

Aizawl: The Congress was ahead in Mizoram winning 14 seats and leading in five, while the MNF won two in the 40-member Assembly, the results for which were declared today.

Four times Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla won from both Serchhip and Hrangturzo, the two seats he contested.

 Mizoram election result: Cong wins 14 seats, leading in 5

Lal Thanhawla. Image courtesy: PIB

In Serchhip, Thanhawla won by by a margin of 734 votes defeating his nearest MNF rival Lalramzauva, who received 4,985 in a four cornered contest.

In Hrangturzo, the chief minister defeated his Mizoram People's Conference (MPC) rival Lalthansanga by 1,638 votes. Thanhawla received 5173 votes in the five cornered contest.

The chief minister said though anti-incumbency played a role, he was confident of forming the next government.

Home minister, R Lalzirliana won from Tawi defeating his nearest MNF rival Lalmalsawmi.

Education minister Lalsawta won from Aizawl East-II, Forest minister H Rohluna from Lengteng and Minister of State for Social Welfare P C Lalthanliana from Lunglei North.

The Congress also bagged the Tuivawl, South Tuipui, Lunglei South, Palak, Champhai North, Lawngtlai West, Tuirial, Tawi and Tuichawng.

Tourism minister S Hiato, however, lost to the MNF's K Beichhua in Saiha.

The party was leading in Aizawl North-III, Chalfilh, Hachhek, Thorang and Tuichang.

The MNF bagged the Saiha and the Tuikum seats and was leading in Lawngtlai East.

Barring the MNF, the two other constituents MPC and Maraland Democratic Front of the Mizoram Democratic Alliance, were yet to open their accounts.


Updated Date: Dec 09, 2013 15:15:55 IST