MCD Election Results 2017: Highest vote margin recorded at 9,866, lowest at 58

New Delhi: A BJP candidate in a south Delhi ward trounced his AAP rival by a whopping 9,866 votes, the highest winning margin in municipal corporation elections, the results for which were declared on Wednesday.

The BJP amassed an impressive tally in all three corporations in the capital, roundly defeating its two rivals, AAP and the Congress.

Union Minister M Venkaiah Naidu and Delhi BJP President , Manoj Tiwari. PTI

Union Minister M Venkaiah Naidu and Delhi BJP President , Manoj Tiwari. PTI

The results for a few wards are still to be declared, but the BJP has already won over 170 of seats out of 270, leaving AAP far behind with 40 and the Congress with 20 seats.

The highest margin was recorded in Dwarka-B by BJP candidate Kamaljeet Sehrawat, who defeated Sushma Bansal of AAP. The lowest poll margin was in east Delhi's Bhajanpura ward, where BJP's Gurjeet Kaur defeated Congress's Rekha Rani by a mere 58 votes.

Senior Congress leader Varyam Kaur, who was the leader of the Opposition in the EDMC House, lost to her BJP rival by a huge margin of 9,115 votes.

In the Krishna Nagar ward in east Delhi, BJP's Sandeep Kapoor dealt a massive blow to his immediate rival, who lost by 9,322 votes.

In the Daryaganj ward, former mayor Farhad Suri's niece, Yasmin Kidwai of the Congress, won by a narrow margin of 59 votes.

In a few wards such as Sadar Bazaar and Shastri Nagar, vote margins were in three digits.

Updated Date: Apr 26, 2017 17:57 PM

Also Watch

Social Media Star: Abhishek Bachchan, Varun Grover reveal how they handle selfies, trolls and broccoli
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 It's a Wrap: Soorma star Diljit Dosanjh and Hockey legend Sandeep Singh in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 Watch: Dalit man in Uttar Pradesh defies decades of prejudice by taking out baraat in Thakur-dominated Nizampur village
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 India's water crisis: After govt apathy, Odisha farmer carves out 3-km canal from hills to tackle scarcity in village
  • Sunday, July 15, 2018 Maurizio Sarri, named as new Chelsea manager, is owner Roman Abramovich's latest gamble in quest for 'perfect football'

Also See