MCD Election 2017: Regional parties make their presence felt as BSP wins 3 wards, SP wins 1

New Delhi: Regional parties such as the BSP and the SP managed to make their presence felt in the high-stakes MCD polls while Nitish Kumar-led JD(U) failed to open its account.

Mayawati. PTI

Mayawati. PTI

The Mayawati-led party won three wards, two in east Delhi — Gharoli and Seelampur — and one in north Delhi — Rohini C.

Samajwadi Party candidate Deepak Mehra won the Ghuman Hera ward in the SDMC. INLD's Neelam won from Dichaon Kalan in South Delhi.

The JD(U), which had entered the fray with much fanfare banking on the Purvanchali vote bank, suffered a humiliating loss as 94 of its candidates today lost deposit.

The party had fronted the Bihar chief minister in its campaigns with Kumar holding two back-to-back rallies besides a roadshow early this month.

The BJP on Wednesday steamrolled the opposition and the AAP was reduced to a distant second, while the Congress was relegated to a poor third. The saffron party bagged an impressive number of 181 wards.

The municipal polls in Delhi were held on 23 April for 270 of 272 wards. Elections in the other two wards have been postponed due to the death of two SP candidates.

Updated Date: Apr 27, 2017 08:20 AM

Also See