associate sponsors


Manipur Election 2017: Irom Sharmila, Ibobi Singh file nominations for polls

Imphal: Activist Irom Sharmila and Manipur Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh, who is seeking a fourth term, on Thursday filed their nominations for Thoubal Assembly seat in the upcoming Assembly elections.

Sharmila filed her nominations on behalf of her Peoples' Resurgence and Justice Alliance (PRJA), which is making an electoral debut, while Ibobi Singh filed for Congress.  Anti-AFSPA (Armed Forces Special Powers Act) crusader Irom Sharmila, who ended her 16-year-long hunger strike in August 2016, will be one of Singh's main opponents in Thoubal.

Irom Sharmila. Reuters

Irom Sharmila. Reuters

Sharmila reached Thoubal on her bicycle, covering a distance of about 20 kilometres from Imphal, flanked by her party activists. PRJA is hoping to make an impact using alternative political practices.
Ibobi Singh, the three time chief minister of Manipur, is eyeing for a fourth term in office after being elected successively in 2002, 2007 and 2012 respectively.

Polling for the 60-member Manipur Assembly will take place in two phases on 4 and 8 March respectively, results for which will be declared on 11 March. In the last Assembly polls, the Congress had won 42 seats and Okram Ibobi Singh was re-elected as the chief minister of the state.

Updated Date: Feb 17, 2017 15:40 PM

Also Watch

Firstpost in Russia: Moscow to St. Petersburg, on a free World Cup train
  • Monday, July 2, 2018 Social Media Star: Richa Chadha, Kunal Kamra talk about their political views, and why they speak their mind
  • Tuesday, June 26, 2018 It's A Wrap: Swara Bhasker talks about Veere Di Wedding and Twitter trolls, in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Tuesday, June 19, 2018 Rahul Gandhi turns 48: Congress chief, who once said 'power is poison', should focus on party rather than on 'hate Modi' mission
  • Monday, June 4, 2018 It's A Wrap: Bhavesh Joshi Superhero makers Anurag Kashyap, Vikramaditya Motwane in conversation with Parul Sharma

Also See