Manipur Election 2017: Here's a quick guide to the state polls

Elections in Manipur will be held in two phases — on 4 March and 8 March — with the results being declared on 11 March. Representatives from 60 constituencies will be elected.

Representational image. Reuters

Representational image. Reuters

The previous Assembly election, held in 2012, resulted in a landslide victory for the Congress, giving them 42 seats and allowing Okram Ibobi Singh to be re-elected as chief minister for an unprecedented third consecutive term.

While Manipur has been a Congress stronghold for over a decade, thanks to the leadership of Ibobi, a savvy political operator, the BJP has been upbeat about its chances, buoyed undoubtedly by its success in last year's Assam elections. All eyes are also on Irom Sharmila, who shocked many political observers by giving up her 16-year fast against the controversial Armed Forces Special Powers Act (Afspa), and decided to enter politics.

Manipur's Iron Lady has formed the People's Resurgence and Justice Alliance (PRJA) and will be taking on the chief minister in his own den — Thoubal constituency — only time will tell if this is a masterstroke or a blunder.

Sharmila, while announcing her decision, had said: "During his 15 years of leadership he has not done anything to repeal Afspa. Since I realise that no politician shall repeal it, I am planning to contest the election, become the chief minister and repeal it."

Here are some quick facts about the state:

Number of Parliamentary Constituencies: 2
Number of Assembly Constituencies: 60
The present ruling party: Indian National Congress
Opposition Party: Trinamool Congress
Chief Minister: Okram Ibobi Singh
Governor: Dr. Najma A. Heptulla
Chief Electoral Officer: Oinam Nabakishore Singh

Political Parties in Manipur

The Indian National Congress (INC)
The Bharatiya Janata Party
The Rashtriya Janata Dal
The Nationalist Congress Party

The main regional political parties are :

Democratic Revolutionary Peoples Party
Manipur State Congress party
Lok Jan Shakti Party
All India Trinamool Congress
Manipur People's Party (MPP)
Federal Party of Manipur
Manipur National Conference
Naga People's Front
National People's Party (India)
Nikhil Manipuri MahasabhaManipur Assembly Election 2017

Updated Date: Feb 03, 2017 19:14 PM

Also Watch

Social Media Star: Abhishek Bachchan, Varun Grover reveal how they handle selfies, trolls and broccoli
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 It's a Wrap: Soorma star Diljit Dosanjh and Hockey legend Sandeep Singh in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 Watch: Dalit man in Uttar Pradesh defies decades of prejudice by taking out baraat in Thakur-dominated Nizampur village
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 India's water crisis: After govt apathy, Odisha farmer carves out 3-km canal from hills to tackle scarcity in village
  • Sunday, July 15, 2018 Maurizio Sarri, named as new Chelsea manager, is owner Roman Abramovich's latest gamble in quest for 'perfect football'

Also See