associate sponsors


Manipur Assembly Election 2017: CM Okram Ibobi Singh files nomination papers

Imphal: Manipur Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh on Thursday filed his nomination papers for the upcoming state Assembly polls.

Okram Ibobi Singh. Reuters

Okram Ibobi Singh. Reuters

He said that the Congress party will return with a "thumping" majority and will form the government for the fourth consecutive term.

"The ruling Congress shall win absolute majority in the non-Naga areas. There are 10 seats in the constituencies dominated by the Nagas. We are hoping for at least half," Ibobi Singh told the media after filing his nomination papers in Thoubal district.

Naga groups are highly opposed to the Congress party and Ibobi Singh.

Sources said that many of the politicians were asked to resign from the Assembly and contest after joining other parties.

Prominent members include veteran Congress legislator Phunzathang Tonsing, Parliamentary Secretary V Valte and the lone tribal woman Assembly member Nemcha Kipgen.

Manipur will vote in two phases — on 4 and 8 March— to elect 60 members of the state Assembly.

Updated Date: Feb 16, 2017 17:56 PM

Also Watch

Firstpost in Russia: Moscow to St. Petersburg, on a free World Cup train
  • Monday, July 2, 2018 Social Media Star: Richa Chadha, Kunal Kamra talk about their political views, and why they speak their mind
  • Tuesday, June 26, 2018 It's A Wrap: Swara Bhasker talks about Veere Di Wedding and Twitter trolls, in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Tuesday, June 19, 2018 Rahul Gandhi turns 48: Congress chief, who once said 'power is poison', should focus on party rather than on 'hate Modi' mission
  • Monday, June 4, 2018 It's A Wrap: Bhavesh Joshi Superhero makers Anurag Kashyap, Vikramaditya Motwane in conversation with Parul Sharma