Malviya Nagar Election Result 2020 LIVE Updates | Delhi Assembly Elections; Constituency, Party, Candidate Name Wise Winner, Loser, Leading, Trailing

Election Result 2020 LIVE | Candidate, Constituency and Party-Wise Winner List

AAP WON Somnath Bharti 52,043 Votes 57.97% Votes
BJP Shailender Singh 33,899 Votes 37.76% Votes
INC Neetu Verma Soin 2,856 Votes 3.18% Votes
BSP Gyan Chand Gautam 229 Votes 0.26% Votes
SS Mobin Ali 115 Votes 0.13% Votes
IND Kamal Singh 87 Votes 0.1% Votes

Delhi Assembly Election 2020, Malviya Nagar profile | Somnath Bharti of the Aam Aadmi Party has won the election from Malviya Nagar against the Bharatiya Janata Party's Shailender Singh with a margin of 18,144 votes.

Bharti was up against former councillor Shailendra Singh Moti of the BJP and Congress candidate Neetu Verma, a former DUSU president.

The constituency was a part of the New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency.

Here is a brief profile of the constituency:

Constituency Name: Malviya Nagar
Constituency Number: 43
District Name: South Delhi
Total Electors: 1,39,987
Female Electors: 63,370
Male Electors: 76,604
Third Gender: 13
Reserved: No

Results in previous elections: The incumbent MLA is the high-profile AAP leader Somnath Bharti. He had defeated Congress leader Kiran Walia in the 2013 Assembly polls by a margin of over 11,000 votes. In the next election in 2015, he defeated his nearest BJP rival by a margin of over 16,000 votes. Prior to 2008, veteran Congressman Yoganand Shastri represented the seat for two consecutive terms.

Although the AAP government doled out freebies ahead of the polls, the voters in this constituency were unimpressed. And if their mood is anything to go by, AAP’s sitting MLA Somnath Bharti is in for a tough fight this year. An explanation for this sentiment could be the fact that this constituency has some upmarket areas such as Hauz Khas, Safdarjung Enclave and Malviya Nagar. People living in these areas appreciate their MLA but are against giving away public services for free.

The voters also complain of lack of focus on infrastructural development despite the segment falling under a high-profile Parliamentary constituency. Arjun Nagar, Krishna Nagar, Humayunpur, Begum Pur, Malviya Nagar and Geetanjali Malviya Nagar are other areas that fall in this constituency.

Demographics: Once populated by refugees from Pakistan in the 1950s, Malviya Nagar is now made up of up-scale areas that share boundaries with unauthorised colonies.

Located in South district of Delhi, Malviya Nagar comes under the New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. The Scheduled castes (SC) and Scheduled tribes (ST) ratio is 8.59 and 0, respectively of the total population.

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

Updated Date: Feb 11, 2020 17:57:11 IST