Maharashtra Cabinet portfolios announced: Dy CM Ajit Pawar gets finance, Aaditya Thackeray allotted tourism and environment ministry

  • Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister and senior NCP leader Ajit Pawar has got the finance and planning department while his party colleague Anil Deshmukh is the new Home Minister of the state

  • NCP’s Ajit Pawar, who is the deputy chief minister of the state, has been allocated the finance portfolio, while Shiv Sena’s Eknath Shinde has been given urban fevelopment

  • Aditya Thackeray, who has criticised the Mumbai Metro authorities for felling trees in Aarey Colony, has been allocated the tourism and environment portfolio

Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister and senior NCP leader Ajit Pawar has got the finance and planning department while his party colleague Anil Deshmukh is the new Home Minister of the state, PTI reported.

First-time Shiv Sena MLA Aaditya Thackeray, who is the son of Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, has been given charge of the environment, tourism and protocol departments. He has been a critic of the Mumbai Metro authorities for felling trees in Aarey Colony.

Senior Congress leader Balasaheb Thorat has got the revenue ministry, a day after the Maha Vikas Aghadi government submitted its list of portfolios to Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari. With this allocation of portfolios, the Sharad Pawar-led NCP has got most of the 'plum' ministries.

Shiv Sena’s Eknath Shinde has been given urban development, and former chief minister and senior Congress leader Ashok Chavan has been allocated Public Works Department (PWD).

Jayant Patil from NCP has been allocated the irrigation department, Chhagan Bhujbal food and civil supplies, Dilip Walse Patil excise and Dhananjay Munde has been handed the social justice portfolio.

The portfolio allocation comes five days after Uddhav Thackeray expanded his Cabinet by inducting 36 ministers, taking his cabinet to 43 —33 Cabinet and 10 states. With 44 MLAs, the Congress has got 12 ministerial berths, while Sena, with 56 MLAs, has 15 and NCP, with 54 MLAs, has 16.

Here’s the full list of Cabinet ministers with allocated portfolios:

Party Minister's Name Portfolio
Shiv Sena Uddhav Thackeray General Administration Department, Law and Judiciary
NCP Ajit Pawar Finance, Planning
NCP Jayant Patil Water resources (Irrigation)
NCP Anil Deshmukh Home
Shiv Sena Eknath Shinde Urban development
Congress Balasaheb Thorat Revenue
Congress Ashok Chavan Public Works Department (PWD)
NCP Nawab Malik Minority
NCP Chhagan Bhujbal Food and civil supplies
NCP Jitendra Awhad Housing
NCP Rajesh Tope Health
NCP Rajendra Shingane Food and drugs administration
NCP Dilip Walse Pati Labour
NCP Rajesh Tope Public Health
NCP Hasan Mushrif Rural Development
NCP Dhananjay Munde Social justice
Congress Nitin Raut Energy
Congress Varsha Gaikwad School education
Congress Yashomati Thakur Women and child welfare
Congress KC Padvi Tribal Development
Congress Sunil Kedar Dairy development
Congress Vijay Wadettiwar OBC welfare
Congress Aslam Shaikh Textiles, ports
Congress Varsha Gaikwad School Education
Congress Balasaheb Patil Cooperation, Marketing
Congress Amit Deshmukh Medical Education
Shiv Sena Subhash Desai Industries
Shiv Sena Sanjay Rathod Forest, Relief and Rehabilitation
Shiv Sena Dada Bhuse Agriculture
Shiv Sena Uday Samant Higher and technical education
Shiv Sena Anil Parab Transport and Parliamentary Affairs
Shiv Sena Sandipanrao Bhumre Employment Guarantee Scheme
Shiv Sena Shankarrao Gadakh Water conservation
Shiv Sena Gulab Raghunath Patil Water Supply and Sanitation

Here’s the full list of Ministers of State with allocated portfolios:

Party Minister's Name Portfolio
NCP Aditi Tatkare Industry, Tourism
NCP Prajakt Tanpure Urban Development
NCP Sanjay Bansode Environment
Independent Rajendra Yadravkar Public Health
Congress Vishwajit Kadam Cooperation, Agriculture
NCP Dattatray Bharane PWD
Independent Omprakash Babarao Kadu Water Resources Department, School Education
Shiv Sena Shambhuraj Desai Home (Rural), Finance
Congress Satej Patil Home (Urban), Transport
Shiv Sena Abdul Sattar Revenue, Rural Development

Among Ministers of State (MoS) from the NCP, Dattatray Bharne has got PWD, forest, animal husbandry and GAD, Sanjay Bansode- environment, drinking water and sanitation, Prajakt Tanpure- urban development, power, tribal development, and Aditi Tatkare- industries, tourism, horticulture and sports.

Shiv Sena's MoS Shambhuraj Desai got Home-rural, finance and planning, and Excise, while Abdul Sattar got revenue, rural development, port and salt land development. Among the Congress' MoS, Vishwajeet Kadam got cooperation and agriculture departments, while Satej Patil got Home-urban, transport, IT and ex-servicemen welfare. Besides, MoS Rajendra Yadravkar (Independent MLA) has got medical education, public health and family welfare, while Bachchu Kadu (also Independent legislator) got water resources department, school education and OBC welfare.

With inputs from PTI

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

Updated Date: Jan 05, 2020 12:32:56 IST