Maharashtra Assembly to elect deputy Speaker for first time in four years; post has been vacant since Devendra Fadnavis took charge

Mumbai: Maharashtra Legislative Assembly will get a deputy Speaker after the longest gap of four years, with the election for the vacant constitutional post being announced on Wednesday.

The election will be held on 30 November, Assembly Speaker Haribhau Bagde said after question hour. The 13th Assembly would have gone down in history as the one without a deputy speaker for the longest gap of period had the elections been not announced.

Vasant Purke of the Congress was the last deputy speaker before 2014. He had held the post in the previous assembly.

However, the post has been lying vacant since the last four years after the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) government led by Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis assumed office on 31 October, 2014 and won the trust vote on 12 November.

File photo of Maharashtra chief minister Devendra Fadnavis. PTI

File photo of Maharashtra chief minister Devendra Fadnavis. PTI

Announcing the schedule, the speaker said the process of filing of nominations will begin on Wednesday itself and scrutiny of papers will be done on Thursday. The nominations can be withdrawn by 10.30 am on 30 November.

"The election, if necessary, will be taken up between 11.30 am and 1 pm on 30 November," he said.

The 13th Assembly has met 15 times since October 2014 when the new government took. The current winter session is the 16th session of the assembly. Deputy Speaker is elected from among the members of the Assembly.

In the 288-member House, the BJP is the largest party with 122 MLAs, followed by the Shiv Sena at 63, the Congress with 42 and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) with 41.

During the Sena-BJP rule between 1995 and 1999, Sharad Tasare of the Congress held the post of Deputy Speaker.

Later, during the 15-year rule of the Congress-NCP, the speaker's post was with the NCP while the Congress had its nominee on the deputy speaker's post.

Of the 22 deputy speakers so far, the majority were from the Congress party.

Gajananrao Garud, who served as deputy speaker between 21 March, 1978 and 5 April, 1979, was an Independent MLA.

Suryakant Dongre, who held the post between 7 April, 1979 and 9 June, 1980 belonged to the Republican Party of india (Khobragade group).

Kamalkishore Kadam (1 March, 1985 to 22 June, 1986) was from the Congress (Socialist) which at the time was headed by current NCP supremo Sharad Pawar.

Laxman Alias Anna Joshi, who was the deputy speaker from 20 October, 1990 to 3 July, 1991, was from the BJP while Moreshwar Termude (19 July, 1991 to 11 March, 1995) was from the Janata Party.

Before the state of Maharashtra came into existence in 1960, there were five deputy speakers of the Legislative Assembly of Bombay Province, which later came to be known as the bilingual Bombay State.

The Congress' Shanmugappa Angadi was deputy speaker of the Assembly of Bombay Province from 1946 to 1952.

Deendayal Gupta, who was the deputy speaker of the bilingual state from 20 June, 1957 to 30 April, 1960, went on to become the first deputy speaker of the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly on 1 May, 1960. He continued on the post till 3 March, 1962.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Nov 28, 2018 16:32:23 IST

Also See