Madhya Pradesh bypoll results 2018: Congress retains Mungaoli, Kolaras Assembly seats in closely-contested elections

Congress retained both Kolaras and Mungaoli Assembly seats in the closely contested Madhya Pradesh bypoll, which were touted to be a precursor to the upcoming state polls.

Representational image. AFP

Representational image. AFP

In Mungaoli, Congress candidate Brajendra Singh Yadav beat his BJP rival by a margin of 2,124 votes, a poll official said. Brajendra got 70,808 votes while the BJP candidate, Baisahab Yadav, bagged 68,684, the official said.  Notably, the Congress had won the seat by a margin of 20,765 votes in the previous election.

Counting of votes began in the morning with the BJP leading in the first round. However, the Congress candidate surged ahead second round onwards and maintained the lead till the seventh round.

In Kolaras seat, Congress's Mahendra Ramsingh Khatora won by a margin of over 8,000 votes, defeating his closest rival, BJP's Devendra Kumar Jain Pattewale.

The Mungaoli bypoll, held on 24 February, was necessitated due to the death of Congress's MLA Mahendra Singh Kalukheda, while Kolaras seat was vacated after the death of Congress' Ram Singh Yadav. Both seats are in the Guna Lok Sabha constituency, represented by senior Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia.

"People have taken a decision. It's victory of truth & development. MP ki janta ne mann bana liya hai BJP ki rawangi ka. The governemnt which had not seen the face of Mungaoli in 14 years camped there with their entire cabinet during election," Scindia told ANI after the results were announced.

With inputs from agencies

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Mar 01, 2018 09:24:07 IST

Also See