Madhya Pradesh Election Results 2018: Congress stakes claim to form govt in Hindi heartland, gets support from Independents

In what seemed likely to be driven by the 2017 Goa experience, Congress Tuesday staked claim to form the government in Madhya Pradesh even though final results were yet to be announced. Madhya Pradesh Congress president Kamal sent a letter to the governor on Tuesday night, claiming support of all Independent candidates.

At the time of writing this article, Congress had won 109 seats and was leading in 5 seats. Besides, the Bahujan Samaj Party has already won two seats has also extended support to the party, taking the tally well over the halfway mark of 115.

A resurgent Congress Tuesday made significant gains in not just Madhya Pradesh but also in two other state Assembly elections, dealing a body blow to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan.

The reverses for the BJP in the Hindi heartland threw wide open the 2019 Lok Sabha elections which until a few months ago appeared to be in the grip of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's party.

Representational image. News18

Representational image. News18

Buoyed by the Congress' good showing in the polls that was dubbed as a semi-final for the 2019 general elections, party president Rahul Gandhi said the outcome is a "clear message" to the Modi government that people are not happy with it and time has come for a change.

Narendra Modi got a massive mandate but refused to listen to "heartbeat of the country", Gandhi told reporters.

With Congress set to form governments in Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan and a neck-to-neck fight in Madhya Pradesh, Gandhi said the selection of chief ministers in the three states will be done "smoothly".

"We have defeated the BJP in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh... There will be no issue over selection of chief minister. It will be done smoothly."

Modi congratulated the Congress, the TRS and the MNF for their victories and said the BJP accepts people's mandate with humility. "Victory and defeat are an integral part of life. Today's results will further our resolve to serve people and work even harder for the development of India," he said.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley said the results were certainly not as expected and asserted the poll outcome was an opportunity to pause and analyse.

In a shocking result, the Congress ended chief minister Raman Singh's uninterrupted 15-year rule in Chhattisgarh. It won 22 and was leading in 46 in the 90-member House while the BJP was relegated to a distant second spot winning 3 and ahead in 13, according to latest trends available with the Election Commission.

Raman Singh submitted his resignation to Governor Anandiben Patel and said he accepts responsibility for BJP's poor showing.

Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje too handed over her resignation to Governor Kalyan Singh in Jaipur. The Congress was heading towards majority in the desert state, winning 87 seats and leading in another 12 out of 199 seats. The BJP had 72 seats in its kitty and was ahead in one.

As voting trends and results slowly trickled, the Congress, which had just 58 seats in the outgoing Assembly in Madhya Pradesh, was set to cross the 100 mark in a House of 230.
The Congress was winning or leading in 113 seats while for the BJP this was 110.

According to Election Commission data, both the BJP and the Congress had around 41.2 percent votes each.

Three-time chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, who was battling anti-incumbency, won the Budhni seat but a dozen ministers were trailing behind Congress candidates.

Senior Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia said the trends reflected people's desire for a change in Madhya Pradesh while state Congress chief Kamal Nath exuded confidence they will form the government in the state.

"Trends show Congress marching ahead to victory in Rajasthan, MP and Chhattisgarh. We are confident the trend will continue across the country," Congress leader Sachin Pilot said in Jaipur.

In Chhattisgarh, the Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (J) of former chief minister Ajit Jogi was ahead in five seats while the CPI and the Gondwana Gantantra Party and the CPI (M) were leading in one seat each.

The trends in the desert state of Rajasthan, showed the Congress is inching towards the magic mark of 100, winning 22 and leading in 78. The outcome reflected the 20-year "revolving door" trend of voters in choosing the BJP and the Congress alternately.

The ruling BJP won 15 and leading in 58 of the 199 seats which went to polls. The BJP and the Congress had 163 and 21 seats in the outgoing House. Independents won three and were leading in nine.

Rajasthan has a 200-member assembly but polling in Alwar's Ramgarh constituency was postponed following the death of the BSP candidate there.

The Congress will hold its legislature party meeting in Jaipur to decide on who will be the chief minister. Former chief minister Ashok Gehlot and Pilot are frontrunners for the top post.

TRS wins in Telangana, MNF takes Mizoram

The Assembly polls held for five states also saw the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) recording a landslide win for a second consecutive term and the Mizo National Front (MNF) scripting a spectacular victory dislodging the Congress in its last bastion in the Northeast to return to power after 10 years.

The TRS is set to form its second successive government in Telangana where it won a simple majority and is heading for a landslide with its candidates clinching 79 seats and leading in 9 in the 119-member House in a resounding endorsement of its chief K Chandrasekhar Rao's popularity.

Rao himself won by a margin of over 51,000 votes from his Gajwel seat, trouncing Congress's V Pratap Reddy. Rao's son K T Rama Rao and nephew T Harish Rao, both ministers in his caretaker government, also won.

The Congress clinched 18 seats and is leading in one. Its ally TDP won two seats.

Rao told reporters that Telangana proved to be a non-Congress, non-BJP state and that the TRS will play a crucial role in national politics. He dissolved the Assembly in September, eight months ahead of schedule, in a political gamble that paid off handsomely.

The Mizo National Front(MNF) got a simple majority bagging 26 of the 40 seats at stake dislodging the Congress which bagged five.

With inputs from PTI

Follow all the latest updates from the Telangana Elections here

Follow all the latest updates from the Mizoram Elections here

Follow all the latest updates from the Chhattisgarh Elections here

Follow all the latest updates from the Madhya Pradesh Elections here

Follow all the latest updates from the Rajasthan Elections here

Follow Firstpost's coverage of the 2018 Vidhan Sabha Elections here

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Dec 12, 2018 00:02:33 IST

Also See