Madhya Pradesh Assembly election exit poll results 2018: Times Now gives BJP the win, while India Today predicts hung Assembly

The Madhya Pradesh exit polls are in and the state appears to be set for quite a nail-biter. According to Times Now-CNX, the BJP is set to pick up 126 of the 230 seats on offer, with the Congress and its allies picking up 89, the Bahujan Samaj Party six and others expected to win nine seats. However, the India Today-Axis My India poll shows the BJP picking up 102 to 120 seats, the Congress claiming 104 to 122 seats and others to win between four and 11 seats. Meanwhile, the Republic-CVoter survey gives BJP between 90 and 106 seats and sees the Congress walk away with between 110 and 126 seats.

The Times Now scenario gives the BJP a clear majority in the state and could see Shivraj Singh Chouhan embark on his fourth term as Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh. The India Today scenario, on the other hand, depicts a hung Assembly. This would see the other parties play a major role in government-formation.

BJP Congress BSP Others
Times Now-CNX 126 89 0 15
India Today-Axis 102-120 104-122 0 4-8
NewsX-NETA 106 112 0 12
Republic-CVoter 106 110-126 0 6-12
Republic-Jan ki Baat 108-128 95-115 0 7
ABP-CSDS 94 126 0 0

This election is part of five Assembly polls across the country that form the final election season ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. Whether or not these polls will have any impact on the mandate of May next year still remains to be seen. The results of all five elections will be out on 11 December.

Follow all the latest updates from the Madhya Pradesh Elections here

Follow Firstpost's coverage of the 2018 Vidhan Sabha Elections here

The Great Diwali Discount!
Unlock 75% more savings this festive season. Get Moneycontrol Pro for a year for Rs 289 only.
Coupon code: DIWALI. Offer valid till 10th November, 2019 .

Updated Date: Dec 07, 2018 20:44:04 IST