Karnataka polls: CPM to field nominees in 18-19 seats, will back 'strongest candidate' against BJP in other constituency

New Delhi: Giving a call to defeat the BJP in the upcoming Assembly polls in Karnataka, the CPM on Friday decided to support the "strongest candidates" who would be in a position to defeat the saffron party, besides fielding its own nominees in 18 to 19 seats.

Representational image. Reuters

Representational image. Reuters

After a two-day meet of the party's central committee meeting here, its general secretary Sitaram Yechury said the CPM has decided to give an open call to defeat the BJP and the "communal forces" in the poll-bound state.

"In these elections, the main objective of the CPM would be to defeat the BJP. Apart from the seats that we are contesting, we have decided to support the strongest candidate who would be in a position to defeat the BJP. Where we are not contesting, our priority would be to defeat the BJP and communal combination," he said.

Yechury said the CPM, which would contest as part of the Left Front in Karnataka, has decided on its candidates and the final list will be announced by the state committee.

The decision to support the strongest anti-BJP candidates, would mean even supporting Congress nominees. The move comes in the backdrop of an intense debate within the CPM on whether to have any electoral understanding or alliance with the Congress.

In reply to a question by mediapersons, CPM politburo member Prakash Karat said, "We would not name any particular party in our campaign for the seats where we would not contest. We would give an open call to defeat the BJP in Karnataka."

According to a party insider, Karat seems to have softened his stand regarding campaigning for other candidates, including those of the Congress, without naming any party.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Mar 30, 2018 20:52:32 IST

Also See