Karnataka govt formation: Minister portfolios to be decided post their swearing-in, JDS-Congress leaders to recommend names

Bengaluru: Portfolios for the cabinet ministers in the Karnataka coalition government would be allocated after their swearing-in on Wednesday, a Congress leader said on Monday.

"All the 32 legislators — 21 from the Congress and 11 from the JD(S)— will take oath as cabinet ministers. Their portfolios will be allocated by the chief minister later," state Congress spokesman K.E. Radhakrishna told IANS. As decided by the alliance partners on 1 June, the Congress will have 22 portfolios, including Home and the JD(S) 12, including Finance.

File image of Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy. AP

File image of Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy. AP

Janata Dal (Secular) leader HD Kumaraswamy and Congress state unit president G Parameshwara were sworn-in on 23 May as chief minister and deputy chief minister, respectively.

The Congress high command will decide who among its legislators are to become ministers and which portfolio they will hold. "Parameshwara is going to Delhi on Tuesday to finalise the 21 legislators of the Congress to be inducted into the ministry in consultation with party President Rahul Gandhi and state in-charge KC Venugopal," said Radhakrishnan.

The party's high command will also recommend to the chief minister the portfolios to be given to the 22 Congress ministers, including the deputy chief minister.

Similarly, Kumaraswamy will decide names of the JD(S) legislators to be made ministers and the portfolios they will hold by Tuesday night in consultation with party supremo HD Deve Gowda and other senior leaders.

"Kumaraswamy will discuss the issue with all our legislators on Tuesday morning and shortlist the names of 11 MLAs to be made ministers and their portfolios. The list will be finalised in consultation with Gowda by Tuesday night," a JD(S) spokesman told IANS.

As per the agreement between the alliance partners, the Congress will have besides Home, Irrigation, Bengaluru City Development, Industries, Health, Revenue, Urban Development, Rural Development, Agriculture, Medical Education, Housing, Labour, Women & Child Welfare, Forest & Environment, Mines & Geology, Social Welfare, Food & Civil Supplies, Law & Parliamentary Affairs, IT, BT and Science & Technology, Kannada Culture, Sports & Youth Affairs, Haj & Wakf and Minority Affairs, and Ports & Inland Transport Development departments.

Besides Finance, the JD(S) will have Excise, Information, Intelligence, General Administration, Planning & Statistics, Public Works Department (PWD), Power, Cooperation, Tourism, General Education, Animal Husbandry & Fisheries, Horticulture & Sericulture, Small-Scale Industries, Transport and Minor Irrigation.

In the 225-member Assembly, including one nominated, the Congress has 78 MLAs, JD(S) 36 and the BJP 104, with three others. Though the Congress retained Bengaluru's Raja Rajeshwari (RR) Nagar assembly segment in the election held later, it lost its legislator Siddu Nyamgouda in a road accident in Bagalkot district.

Election to one assembly segment (Jayanagar in Bengaluru south) is due on 11 June and vote count on 13 June after it was deferred owing to the death of BJP contestant BN Vijaya Kumar on 4 May.

Kumaraswamy has already won the trust vote on 25 May by voice vote in the Assembly a week after the three-day BJP government fell when its chief minister BS Yeddyurappa resigned before the floor test as he fell seven votes short of the halfway mark.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Jun 05, 2018 08:42:51 IST

Also See