associate sponsors


Karnataka: Campaign ends for Monday's BJP vs Congress-JD(S) contest for Jayanagar Assembly seat

Bengaluru: Campaign for the Monday election to the Jayanagar Assembly segment in Bengaluru ended on Saturday, with candidates wooing the electorate for their valuable vote at the hustings. The vote count will be on 13 June.

Representational image. Reuters

Representational image. Reuters

Polling in the prestigious seat was countermanded due to the death of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) contestant BN Vijaya Kumar on 4 May. The BJP nominated Kumar's younger brother BN Prahlad as its candidate.

Withdrawal of Janata Dal (Secular) (JDS) contestant Kalegowda from the fray on 5 June in support of the Congress nominee Sowmya Reddy has made the electoral battle a straight contest between the two national parties.

Sowmya is the daughter of former state Home Minister Ramalinga Reddy.

The Congress, which won from the RR Nagar Assembly segment on 31 May, hopes to wrest the Jayanagar seat from the BJP, aiming to take its tally to 79.

Thought the coalition partner won 78 seats in the 12 May election, death of its re-elected legislator Siddu Bhimappa Nyamgoud from Jamakhandi on 28 May has kept its strength at the same number even after the RR Nagar win.

In all, 19 candidates, including nine Independents, are in the fray. The other woman candidate in the contest in Nayeema Khanum of the Praja Raita Raajya Paksha.

Polling will be held from 7 am to 6 pm across 216 polling booths. There are a total of 312,252 registered voters in the Assembly segment.

Updated Date: Jun 09, 2018 21:34 PM

Also Watch

Firstpost in Russia: Moscow to St. Petersburg, on a free World Cup train
  • Monday, July 2, 2018 Social Media Star: Richa Chadha, Kunal Kamra talk about their political views, and why they speak their mind
  • Tuesday, June 26, 2018 It's A Wrap: Swara Bhasker talks about Veere Di Wedding and Twitter trolls, in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Tuesday, June 19, 2018 Rahul Gandhi turns 48: Congress chief, who once said 'power is poison', should focus on party rather than on 'hate Modi' mission
  • Monday, June 4, 2018 It's A Wrap: Bhavesh Joshi Superhero makers Anurag Kashyap, Vikramaditya Motwane in conversation with Parul Sharma

Also See