Karnataka Assembly polls on 5 May, counting on 8 May

The Election Commission today announced that polls to the Karnataka state assembly will be held in a single phase on 5 May and the counting will be on 8 May.

"There will be 50,436 polling stations across the state and the voters will register their votes using Electronic Voting Machines," said Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath in a press conference in New Delhi. Election Commissioners Syed Nasim Ahmad Zaidi and HS Brahma were also present at the briefing.

Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath. Image courtesy PIB

Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath. Image courtesy PIB

"Through this forum we declare that the Model Code of Conduct comes into effect immediately," Sampath said.

"The issue of notification is on 10 April and the last date of nomination will be done on 17 April," he said.

The scrutiny of nomination will be on 18 April while the last date of withdrawal of candidature is 20 April. The voting will take place between 8am to 5 pm. The term of the current Karnataka Assembly ends in 3 June.


Updated Date: Mar 20, 2013 15:55 PM

Also Watch

IPL 2018: Royal Challengers Bangalore eye revival against Chennai Super Kings as 'Cauvery Derby' comes back to life
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Tuesday, April 24, 2018 It's A Wrap: Beyond the Clouds stars Ishaan Khatter, Malavika Mohanan in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See