Karnataka Assembly Election 2018: Here's the full poll schedule as announced by Election Commission

The Election Commission has announced the Karnataka Assembly election schedule, and it will be a single-phase polling to be held on 12 May. Results will be announced on 15 May.

Representational image. AP

Representational image. AP

Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat announced the poll schedule while addressing the media on Tuesday afternoon.

Karnataka is one of only three states to be ruled by the Congress, and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), fresh from victory in Tripura last month, has been targeting the South Indian state aggressively.

It was also the first South Indian state which the BJP managed to win on its own, when the party clinched power in 2008.

Karnataka has traditionally voted anti-incumbency, and if the Congress government of Siddaramaiah does manage to win, it would be the first time in nearly two decades that a party has bucked anti-incumbency to retain power.

There are 224 seats in Karnataka, and the Election Commission said it would be a single phase polling.

Here are the key dates as part of the Assembly election schedule:

Issue of notification: 17 April, 2018
Last date of nominations: 24 April, 2018
Date of scrutiny: 25 April, 2018
Last date of withdrawal of candidates: 27 April, 2018
Date of polling: 12 May, 2018
Date of counting of votes: 15 May, 2018

Click here to track our live coverage of Karnataka election schedule's announcement

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Mar 27, 2018 14:30:51 IST

Also See