Karnataka Assembly Election 2018: Congress to announce all candidates in single phase by 15 April

Bengaluru: The Karnataka Congress on Wednesday said all candidates for the 224-member state Assembly polls will be announced in a single phase by 15 April.

The highly anticipated state polls are scheduled for 12 May.

"We will announce candidates for all 224 Assembly constituencies in a single phase. As the date of the election has already been announced, we need to do it as soon as possible," Pradesh Congress president G Parameshwara told reporters.

Representational image. AFP

Representational image. AFP

Stating that the party's central election committee will meet after the screening committee meeting on 9 April and 10 April, he noted that the list of party candidates for the state polls will be out by 15 April.

The Election Commission had on Tuesday announced that a single phase election would be conducted in the southern state on 12 May and the counting of votes will be taken up on 15 May.

As part of the poll preparations, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and Parameshwara are holding back to back meetings with ministers in-charge of various districts and the election manifesto committee.

Explaining the process of selection of candidates, the KPCC president said the Pradesh Election Committee has already held its meeting and taken certain decisions, which has been conveyed to the leadership in Delhi.

"As part of the same process, the chief minister and myself are holding discussions with district in-charge ministers on Wednesday, to gather their opinion that will help in the selection of candidates," he said.

"In continuation of this process, there will be a screening committee meeting in Delhi on April 9 and 10 where we will put forward all the information we have gathered, following which the decisions will be taken," Parameshwara added.

Congress President Rahul Gandhi had earlier this month constituted the screening committee for the upcoming Karnataka assembly polls. The committee is headed by senior party leader Madhusudan Mistry, which will also comprise party MPs Tamradhwaj Sahu and Gaurav Gogoi.

AICC General Secretary In-charge of the state KC Venugopal, G Parameshwara and Siddaramaiah are ex-officio members of the committee.

Parameshwara also said that the party was in the process of finalising the list of 40-star campaigners for the polls.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Mar 28, 2018 17:46:14 IST

Also See