Kapil Sibal, Amar Singh, M Venkaiah Naidu, other newly elected Rajya Sabha MPs take oath

New Delhi: Union ministers Piyush Goyal, Nirmala Sitharaman and M Venkaiah Naidu, former finance minister P Chidambaram and Samajwadi Party leader Amar Singh were among 43 newly-elected and re-elected members of Rajya Sabha who took their oath on Monday.

New environment minister Anil Madhav Dave, minister of state for Parliamentary affairs Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, former telecom minister Kapil Sibal, NCP leader Praful Patel, JD-U leader Sharad Yadav and RJD strongman Lalu Prasad Yadav's daughter Misha Bharti were the other prominent members who took oath.

Eminent lawyer Ram Jethmalani and former ministers Ambika Soni and Beni Prasad Verma also took their oath in Rajya Sabha, on the first day of the Monsoon Session of Parliament.

Representational image. PTI

Representational image. PTI

While members thumped desks to welcome those taking oath, Chairman Hamid Ansari greeted the newly elected with "Welcome" and the re-elected with "Welcome Back." Extending his greeting to the newly elected, re-elected and nominated members, Ansari said he eagerly looked forward to their valuable contribution.

Visitors galleries were packed with family members, friends and well-wishers of the members taking oath, and on a
couple of occasions, even going against the convention and cheering their leaders.

After taking oath, members greeted senior leaders of various political parties including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who came in midway through the oath taking.

Those taking oath included TG Venkatesh (TDP) who was elected to the upper house from Andhra Pradesh. Ram
Jethmalani, Misha Bharti (RJD), Gopal Narayan Singh (BJP), Ram Chandra Prasad Singh and Sharad Yadav (JDU), who were elected from Bihar, also took oath.

From Chhattisgarh, Ram Vichar Netam (BJP) and Chhaya Verma (Cong) took oath while Naqvi and Mahesh Poddar (BJP) represented Jharkhand. Sitharaman, who moved to Karnataka to get re-elected to the Upper House, took oath alongside fellow state member KC Ramamurthy. Giving Dave company from Madhya Pradesh was Vivek K Tankha (Congress).

Chidambaram, who was elected to Rajya Sabha from Maharashtra, took oath in English. Others who took oath from
this state were Piyush Goyal, Vikas Mahatme, Praful Patel, Sanjay Raut (BJP) and Vinay P Sahasrabuddhe. Prasanna Acharya, Bishnu Charan Das and Nekkanti Bhaskar Rao, having being elected to the upper house from Odisha, took
oath in Odia. Soni and Balwinder Singh Bhunder (SAD) took oath in Punjabi.

Besides Naidu, Harshvardhan Singh Dungarpur, Omprakash Mathur and Ramkumar Verma were also recently elected from Rajasthan. RS Bharathi and TKS Elangovan, who will represent Tamil Nadu in the House, took oath in Tamil.

Besides Amar Singh, others who got elected to Upper House from Uttar Pradesh and took oath included Ashok Siddharth (BSP), Surendra Singh Nagar, Vishambhar Prasad Nishad, Sanjay Seth, Kapil Sibal (Congress), Revati Raman Singh, Beni Prasad Verma and C Shukhram Singh Yadav. BJP's Shiv Pratap Shukla took oath in Sanskrit.

Pradeep Tamta (Congress), elected from Uttarakhand, took oath in Hindi, while Sambhaji Sahu Chhatrapati (Nominated) took oath in Marathi.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Jul 18, 2016 12:57:04 IST

Also See