Kalraj Mishra, BJP MP from Uttar Pradesh's Deoria, will not contest LS polls; to focus on 'other responsibilities'

New Delhi: Senior BJP leader and Lok Sabha MP from Deoria, Kalraj Mishra on Thursday announced that he will not contest in the ensuing general elections.

 Kalraj Mishra, BJP MP from Uttar Pradeshs Deoria, will not contest LS polls; to focus on other responsibilities

File image of Kalraj Mishra. Twitter@KalrajMishra

"I will not contest the elections this time; I have been given a lot of other responsibilities by the party so my time will be devoted to that," Mishra told ANI.

Mishra had defeated Bahujan Samajwadi Party's (BSP) Niyaj Ahmad with a margin of over 2.65 lakh votes in the Lok Sabha 2014 election.

He resigned from the union cabinet in 2017. He was in-charge of the Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises.

With a twist in Uttar Pradesh politics, BSP chief Mayawati on Wednesday announced that she will not contest the upcoming general elections.

Lok Sabha elections are scheduled to be held from 11 April and will go on till 19 May in seven phases. The polls in Uttar Pradesh will be held in all seven phases. The counting of votes will take place on 23 May.

Your guide to the latest cricket World Cup stories, analysis, reports, opinions, live updates and scores on https://www.firstpost.com/firstcricket/series/icc-cricket-world-cup-2019.html. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates throughout the ongoing event in England and Wales.

Updated Date: Mar 21, 2019 13:50:21 IST