K Chandrashekhar Rao names three TRS candidates for Rajya Sabha polls, elections to be held on 23 March

Hyderabad: The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) on Sunday announced the names of its three candidates for elections to the Rajya Sabha.

File image of Telangana CM K Chandrasekhar Rao. PTI

File image of Telangana CM K Chandrasekhar Rao. PTI

Party president and Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao named Joginapalli Santosh Kumar, Banda Prakash Mudiraj and Badugula Lingaiah Yadav as the candidates.

He formally introduced the three to the party MPs, MLAs and MLCs at a TRS Legislature Party meeting at Telangana Bhavan (the TRS headquarters) in Hyderabad on Sunday. Santosh is the nephew of the chief minister while the other two are from the OBC communities.

The three will file their nomination papers on Monday.

Elections will be held for the three seats on 23 March, if the Congress does not withdraw its candidate P Balaram Naik from the contest.

The TRS has 90 MLAs including those who defected from other parties. The Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) which has seven MLAs has already announced its support for the TRS candidates in the Rajya Sabha polls. The TRS is confident of winning all the three seats.

The Congress has only 13 MLAs but chose to field former Union minister Naik as its candidate.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Mar 11, 2018 19:05:43 IST

Also See