J&K poll result: Deputy CM and three-time MLA Tara Chand loses

Deputy Chief Minister and three time MLA of Congress Tara Chand lost to BJP candidate Dr Krishan Lal with a margin of 14,790 votes in Chhamb Assembly constituency of Jammu district. Chand polled 21,243 votes, while Lal polled 36,033 votes.

Tara Chand had won this seat in 1996, 2002 and 2008 Assembly elections and was Assembly Speaker in 2002 government and became Deputy Chief Minister in Omar Abdullah government.

Election official counting in Srinagar. AP

Election official counting in Srinagar. AP

Considered to be Congress's Dalit face, Chand faced several allegations of corruption and other charges during his tenure as Deputy Chief Minister.

Another Congress Minister Dr Manohar Lal Sharma also lost to BJP candidate Dr Nirmal Singh by a margin of 17,975 votes in Billawar Assembly. Sharma polled 25,472 votes, while Singh polled 43,447 votes. Sharma had won Billawar seat in 2008 Assembly elections and became a minister.


Updated Date: Dec 23, 2014 14:52 PM

Also See