Jharkhand Assembly bypoll: Congress' Naman Bixal Kongari wins Kolebira ST seat, defeats BJP by 9,658 votes

Kolebira (Jharkhand): The Congress won the Kolebira(ST) Assembly bypoll in Jharkhand on Sunday with its candidate, Naman Bixal Kongari, defeating his BJP rival by 9,658 votes.

"The Congress nominee secured 40,343 votes while Basant Soreng of the saffron party polled 30,685 votes," an Election Commission (EC) release said.

With this victory, the Congress will increase its tally to eight in the 82-member House.

The bypoll was necessitated after Enos Ekka of Jharkhand Party, who represented the constituency in the Assembly, lost his membership following his conviction in a
murder case.

Others who were in the fray were Menan Ekka of Jharkhand Party, Anil Kandulna of Sengel Party and an independent candidate, Basant Dungdung.

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha had announced support to Menan Ekka of Jharkhand Party while Babulal Marandis Jharkhand Vikas Morcha had supported the Congress candidate.

Updated Date: Dec 23, 2018 19:32:28 IST