JD(U) dismisses talks of rift within party; says Bihar MPs and MLAs stand with Nitish Kumar

New Delhi: JD(U) spokesperson KC Tyagi said on Monday that there was no split in the party and that most MPs and MLAs are with Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

File image of Nitish Kumar. PTI

File image of Nitish Kumar. PTI

Tyagi said that only rebel MP Ali Anwar Ansari, who was suspended from the parliamentary party for taking part in a meeting of opposition parties, was with senior leader Sharad Yadav.

"Since most of the MPs and MLAs are with Nitish Kumar, so the question of split does not arise," he told reporters in New Delhi.

Ansari along with Sharad Yadav have expressed differences with party chief Nitish Kumar's decision to snap ties with Congress and RJD and form a government in alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Tyagi added that only five state committees of the party are recognised by the Election Commission and all those five state units are with the Chief Minister.

The five state committees include Bihar, Jharkhand, Kerala, Jammu and Kashmir, and Dadara and Nagar Haveli.

Updated Date: Aug 14, 2017 17:55 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See