Industry leaders, actors line-up for AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa's swearing-in ceremony

Chennai: Several industry captains and film actors marked their presence at the swearing-in ceremony of AIADMK supremo Jayalalithaa as Chief Minister on Monday.

Industrialists, including Tractors and Farm Equipment Manufacturer Chairperson Mallika Srinivasan, Apollo Hospitals Managing Director, Preetha Reddy, NAC Jeweler's Chairman and All India Gem and Jewellery Trade Federation Zonal chairman N Anantha Padmanabhann were among those seen in attendance.

AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa. PTI

AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa. PTI

Members of film fraternity, including South Indian Artiste's Association President Nasser, Association's General Secretary, Vishal, Actors Ananda Raj, Prabhu, 'Gundu' Kalyanam, Senthil, Vaiyapuri were also present.

Actor-Politician and All India Samathuva Makkal Katchi President R Sarath Kumar, who lost in the polls contesting from Tiruchendur, was seen sitting in the front row.

About 1,500 police personnel, who were deployed for security, had a tough time controlling the crowd who had lined up en route to the Madras University Centenary Auditorium, venue of the swearing-in.

Major arterial roads in Chennai were decked up with AIADMK party flags, posters and banners of Jayalalithaa for the oath-taking ceremony.

Party cadres from neighbouring districts arrived as early as 6 AM to witness their leader's swearing-in ceremony. LCD screens were installed at vantage points at the Marina beach to help cadres and the public witness the event.

Meanwhile, it was celebration time for AIADMK workers at the party office here and in various parts of the state as Jayalalithaa was sworn-in.

Party workers burst crackers and distributed sweets on the occasion.

Updated Date: May 23, 2016 17:33 PM

Also See