Gurdaspur poll win shows people's faith in Congress' policies, says Randeep Singh Surjewala

Chandigarh: After a huge win in the Gurdaspur bypoll, Congress leader Randeep Singh Surjewala on Sunday said people have reaffirmed their faith in policies and programmes of the party and expressed disappointment with the "all talk-no action" approach of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

File image of Randeep Surjewala. CNN-News18

File image of Randeep Surjewala. CNN-News18

"People have reaffirmed their faith in the policies and programmes of the Congress and the state government. The Congress had shown commitment to fight hegemony and goondaism of the SAD-BJP. The people have therefore voted decisively," Surjewala, the AICC communications in-charge, said.

Congress candidate Sunil Jakhar on Sunday won the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha bypoll by defeating his nearest rival, BJP nominee Swaran Salaria, with a margin of 1,93,219 votes.

"The victory margin reflects the huge disappointment among the people towards the Modi government at the Centre. UPA has won all four LS byelections in 2017 — Amritsar, Srinagar, Malappuram and now Gurdaspur," Surjewala, who is also MLA from Kaithal in Haryana, said.

"This proves the disenchantment of masses with the 'jumlas' of the prime minister and the all talk-no action approach of the PM. People of this country are ready for a change and these byelections are magnifying the rejection of the Modi brand of politics," he claimed.

Congress leader and Rajya Sabha MP Pratap Singh Bajwa dubbed the Gurdaspur victory as key to "Congress revival" in whole of India ahead of 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

He said the victory will be a great morale booster for the Congress.

"It is also reaffirming of people's faith in Congress government in Punjab," said Bajwa, who had defeated BJP's Vinod Khanna in Gurdaspur in 2009 Lok Sabha polls.

Bajwa said the BJP's defeat in Gurdaspur polls was also rejection of the demonetisation and GST as brought by the BJP.

"From Gurdaspur, you can also visualise the sentiment of traders, shopkeepers and farmers. It is also rejection of demonetisation and GST which they have brought. Even their traditional voter is unhappy with them. Out of nine assembly segments in Gurdaspur, we have won all nine," he said.

Bajwa claimed that losing Gurdaspur by a huge margin would also be "great setback for the BJP in coming Himachal elections".

Aam Aadmi Party nominee Major General (Retd) Suresh Khajuria was at the third spot with 23,579 votes.

The Gurdaspur LS seat had fallen vacant after the death of BJP MP Vinod Khanna in April.

Khanna was a four-time MP from Gurdaspur Lok Sabha seat. The actor-turned-politician had won the seat in 1998, 1999, 2004 and 2014.

Updated Date: Oct 15, 2017 17:37 PM

Also Watch

IPL 2018: Royal Challengers Bangalore eye revival against Chennai Super Kings as 'Cauvery Derby' comes back to life
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Tuesday, April 24, 2018 It's A Wrap: Beyond the Clouds stars Ishaan Khatter, Malavika Mohanan in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See