Co-presented by

Gujarat Election Result 2017: BJP ahead in 83 seats, Congress in 62; Vijay Rupani regains lead in Rajkot West

Ahmedabad: The BJP is ahead in 83 seats while the Congress is leading in 62 seats, according to trends available so far for 150 seats.

Election Commission figures show the NCP, Bhartiya Tribal Party and an independent candidate are leading in five seats together.

 Gujarat Election Result 2017: BJP ahead in 83 seats, Congress in 62; Vijay Rupani regains lead in Rajkot West

File image of chief minister Vijay Rupani and Deputy chief minister Nitin Patel. PTI

BJP's Vijay Rupani, who was earlier trailing after the count of postal ballots, is now leading in over Congress' Indranil Rajyaguru in Rajkot West seat.

However, Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel is trailing from Mehsana against Congress candidate Jivabhai Patel by 3,000 votes.

Congress leader Arjun Modhwadia is trailing in Porbandar by just 50 votes after counting of three rounds, against BJP leader and fisheries minister Babubhai Bokhiriya.

Congress' Alpesh Thakor is leading in Radhanpur seat against Lavingji Thakor of BJP.

Senior Congress leader Shaktisinh Gohil is trailing against BJP's Virendrasinh Jadeja from Mandvi seat.

State BJP chief Jitu Vaghani is leading over Dilipsinh Gohil of Congress in Bhavnagar West.

The elections for 182-seat Assembly were held on December 9 and 14, after an acrimonious campaign, which was dominated by a face-off between Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congress president Rahul Gandhi.

In the 2012 elections, the BJP had won 115 seats while the Congress emerged victorious on 61 seats.

The BJP has been in power in the state since 1995, winning consecutive elections in the home state of Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah.

Click here for LIVE updates of Gujarat Assembly Election Results 2017

Click here for detailed coverage of Gujarat Assembly Election 2017

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Dec 18, 2017 10:25:59 IST