Gujarat Assembly Election 2017: Jignesh Mevani, Alpesh Thakor, Vijay Rupani win in BJP stronghold

With the ruling BJP expected to retain power in Gujarat, several main contenders in the state like tribal leader Chhotubhai Vasava, and Congress' key hopes Jignesh Mevani and Alpesh Thakor bagged seats in the 182-seat state Assembly on Monday.

Gujarat chief minister Vijay Rupani won the Rajkot West seat, defeating Indranil Rajyguru with a margin of over 25,000 votes, reported India Today. The seat assumes significance as Prime Minister Narendra Modi contested from Rajkot West as Gujarat chief minister in 2002. Rupani had won the same seat in the 2014 bypoll.

The first result in Gujarat polls on Saturday went to the BJP with its candidate and state fisheries minister Babubhai Bokhiriya winning the Porbandar seat, defeating senior Congress leader Arjun Modhvadia.

Bokhiriya retained the seat for the saffron party by defeating Modhvadia by a margin of 1,855 votes.

Here's a list of the key candidates who won in Gujarat:

Candidate Party Constituency
Vijay Rupani BJP Rajkot West
Alpesh Thakor Congress Radhanpur
Jignesh Mevani Independent Vadgam
Babubhai Bokhiriya BJP Porbandar
Chhotubhai Vasava BTP Jhagadia

Click here for live coverage of Gujarat Assembly Election 2017

Click here for detailed coverage of Gujarat Assembly Election 2017

With inputs from PTI

Updated Date: Dec 18, 2017 13:41 PM

Also Watch

Watch: Firstpost test rides the new Thunderbird 500X in Goa and walks you through the Royal Enfield Garage Cafe
  • Tuesday, April 17, 2018 Varun Dhawan on Shoojit Sircar's October, 5-star reviews and working with Anushka Sharma in Sui Dhaaga
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018 Ambedkar Jayanti: Re-visiting Babasaheb's ideals exposes fake Dalit politics of Rahul Gandhi and Congress
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See