Gujarat Assembly Election 2017: Re-polling to be held at six booths in four constituencies today

The Election Commission on Saturday said re-polling will be conducted at six booths in four Assembly constituencies in Gujarat on Sunday.

Fresh voting will be held at two booths each in Viramgam and Savli constituencies and one each in Vadgam and Daskroi constituencies.

File image of an EVM machine at a poll booth. Reuters

Representational image. Reuters

The Election Commission, however, did not specify the reason for fresh polling.

The Chhaniyana-1 and 2 polling booths in Vadgam, Viramgam-27 booth in Viramgam, Nava Naroda in Daskroi, and Nhara and Sankrada booths in Savli will have re-polling, the commission said.

Dalit leader Jignesh Mevani contested from the Vadgam constituency.

Separately, the poll panel has ordered the counting of votes in ten booths using Voter Verified Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) as the presiding officials forgot to wipe out the mock drill poll results from these Electronic Voting Machines (EVM).

Counting using the VVPAT slips will be for Ralisn-3 in Visnagar, Piludra-1 and Katosan-3 booths of Becharaji, Jamatha of Modasa, Vejalpur-58 of Vejalpur, Vastral-55 of Vatva, Khadiya-16 of Jamalpur-Khadiya, Pilol-2 of Savli, Gojpur and Songir booths of Sankheda constituencies.

There would also be random counting of VVPATs at a booth each in every constituency when votes would be tallied on 18 December, it said.

With inputs from agencies

Click here for detailed coverage of Gujarat Assembly Election 2017

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Dec 17, 2017 12:20 PM

Also See