Gujarat Assembly Election 2017: EC orders re-polling tomorrow in six booths of phase 2 due to technical reasons

Gandhinagar: The Election Commission has ordered re-polling on Sunday in six booths of the second phase of the Gujarat Assembly elections.

Representational image. PTI

Representational image. PTI

The re-polling was ordered on Friday late night, citing technical reasons, and the Election Commission annulled the polling data that was present in the EVMs.

Separately, the poll panel has ordered the counting of votes in ten booths using Voter Verified Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) as the presiding officials forgot to wipe out the mock drill poll results from these Electronic Voting Machines (EVM).

Chief Electoral Officer of Gujarat BB Swain ordered re-polling in Chhaniyan-1 and Chhaniyan-2 polling stations of Vadgam constituency, booth number 27 of Viramgam constituency, Nava Naroda booth of Daskroi constituency and Nhara-1 and Sakarda-7 booths of Savli region.

Dalit leader Jignesh Mewani has contested from the Vadgam Assembly seat.

Counting using the VVPAT slips will be for Ralisn-3 in Visnagar, Piludra-1 and Katosan-3 booths of Becharaji, Jamatha of Modasa, Vejalpur-58 of Vejalpur, Vastral-55 of Vatva, Khadiya-16 of Jamalpur-Khadiya, Pilol-2 of Savli, Gojpur and Songir booths of Sankheda constituencies.

The Election Commission has clarified that the VVPAT counting will be in addition to the counting of the VVPAT slips prescribed by the Commission in which one booth per constituency was to counted using the paper trail method.

Click here for detailed coverage of Gujarat Assembly Election 2017

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Dec 16, 2017 14:27 PM

Also See