Goa Assembly Election 2017: BJP announces names of candidates for 29 seats

New Delhi: Refraining from projecting Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar as its chief ministerial candidate in the Goa Assembly polls, BJP on Thursday announced the names of candidates for 29 seats, including 17 sitting MLAs.

Goa Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar. CNN IBN

Goa Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar. CNN IBN

Paresekar figures in the list released by the party here today following its Central Election Committee's meeting last evening.

One sitting MLA, Deputy Speaker Vishnu Surya Wagh, who had last year suffered cardiac arrest, has not been fielded on health grounds and is replaced by Ramrao Surya Wagh.

Defence minister and former chief minister Manohar Parrikar will be the key election campaigner for the party in a state where Congress, an alliance of regional outfits, including one headed by a former senior RSS leader, and AAP are other players in the fray.

Parsekar, a Parrikar loyalist, had taken over from him after Prime Minister Narendra Modi inducted him in his Cabinet as Defence Minister. He, however, continues to have a say in the state's affairs.

Releasing the list, J P Nadda, who is CEC secretary, said the party has given representation to all communities and added that it is considering putting up candidates for all the 40 seats.

The last date of filing nomination, which began yesterday, is 18 January. Asked about its chief ministerial candidate, he said any decision in this regard will be taken by the Parliamentary Board.

He also released the list of three party candidates for biennial election to UP Legislative Council.

Updated Date: Jan 12, 2017 16:02 PM

Also Watch

IPL 2018: Royal Challengers Bangalore eye revival against Chennai Super Kings as 'Cauvery Derby' comes back to life
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Tuesday, April 24, 2018 It's A Wrap: Beyond the Clouds stars Ishaan Khatter, Malavika Mohanan in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See