Goa Election Results 2017: Manohar Parrikar likely to be next Goa CM, says Gadkari

As the BJP is likely to stake claim to form the government in Goa, Manohar Parrikar is likely to be the chief minister of Goa, his home state, Union minister Nitin Gadkari told media on Sunday.

BJP is hoping to sail across the majority mark with support from smaller parties and independents, who have specifically sought for the defence minister.

ANI posted a tweet on Sunday evening that Goa BJP leaders met with the Goa governor and claimed that the party has numbers to form a government.

"We are staking claim to form the government... we have the support of more than 21 legislators which is required to form the government," BJP state unit chief Vinay Tendulkar claimed.

Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar. PTI

Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar. PTI

The Goa Forward Party (GFP), however, has said it is yet to hand over any letter of support to the BJP or the Congress.

The newly elected BJP MLAs, who met on Sunday morning to explore the possibility of forming the government in Goa, passed a resolution urging party chief Amit Shah to nominate Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar as leader of the legislature party.

The BJP's efforts to cobble up a majority to form the government in Goa got a boost as the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) said it would extend support to the saffron party if Parrikar is appointed as the chief minister.

Tendulkar said the letters of support are expected from other parties, including the Goa Forward Party (GFP). "The MGP has already announced its support to us. We will get a letter of support from GFP," Tendulkar claimed.

He further said that the government would be formed in alliance with MGP, GFP and independent candidates. The BJP has won 13 seats in the state polls. Besides, it has the support of a party-backed independent MLA. Both the Congress, which won 17 seats, and the BJP, are wooing the smaller parties to form the government in the 40-member House, where the majority mark is 21.

GFP president Prabhakar Timble said, "We have not given a letter of support to anybody, either to the Congress or the BJP. We are not going to give the letter today."

He said the BJP and the Congress are informally in talks with GFP for support, but there has been no formal communication from them. "We need a formal written proposal from the parties along with common minimum programme before deciding our stand," he said.

The MGP, GFP and independent candidates have won three seats each while the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has bagged one seat in the state.

With inputs from PTI

Updated Date: Mar 12, 2017 20:56 PM

Also Watch

Social Media Star: Abhishek Bachchan, Varun Grover reveal how they handle selfies, trolls and broccoli
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 It's a Wrap: Soorma star Diljit Dosanjh and Hockey legend Sandeep Singh in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 Watch: Dalit man in Uttar Pradesh defies decades of prejudice by taking out baraat in Thakur-dominated Nizampur village
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 India's water crisis: After govt apathy, Odisha farmer carves out 3-km canal from hills to tackle scarcity in village
  • Sunday, July 15, 2018 Maurizio Sarri, named as new Chelsea manager, is owner Roman Abramovich's latest gamble in quest for 'perfect football'

Also See