Days after renewing party membership, Goa BJP worker quits citing induction of 10 Congress MLAs

Panaji: Days after re-enrolling in Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as part of its nationwide membership drive, a young BJP worker, Pranav Sanvorderkar, resigned from the party after voicing his discontent over the induction of 10 Congress MLAs into the party fold.

Sanvorderkar said over the phone, "I am deeply hurt with the news of 10 Congress MLAs shifting allegiance to the BJP and joining the party ahead of some of them being inducted in the state cabinet."

Sanvorderkar, who claims to be working for the party for about two decades, made his resignation public by posting it over social media.

"My association with the Bharatiya Janata Party comes to an end today... It was the ideology of the party which brought me towards this party... I still remember, during the 1999 election of Ramakant Angle, I used to write slips, paint the roads/houses... Can still remember attending the Campal rally of our beloved leader Atal Bihari Vajpayee for the very first time with my family..." read an open letter the former BJP worker wrote.

 Days after renewing party membership, Goa BJP worker quits citing induction of 10 Congress MLAs

Representational image. AFP

"Having said this, I am extremely saddened by the events which took place during the last two days... I cannot be a part of this organisation anymore even if the decision is for the betterment of the party... If I keep quiet now, it would be like suffering a thousand deaths which I already have... The party may have succeeded in safeguarding the interest of the government, but has lost a sincere karyakarta and core voter. So in my personal interest, I am quitting politics for now to start something afresh," he said.

The development comes two days after 10 Goa Congress MLAs joined the BJP in the presence of its working president JP Nadda and Goa chief minister Pramod Sawant in Delhi on Thursday. With this, Congress, which is grappling for survival in Karnataka, suffered yet another blow as the BJP's strength increased from 17 to 27 in the Legislative Assembly of Goa.

With 10 MLAs changing sides, the strength of Congress on the floor of the House was reduced to a mere five. The MLAs who changed sides include Kavlekar, Isidore Fernandes, Francis Silveira, Filipe Neri Rodrigues, Jennifer, Atanasio Monserrate, Antonio Fernandes, Nilakanth Halarnkar, Clafacio Dias and Wilfred D'Sa. (ANI)

Your guide to the latest cricket World Cup stories, analysis, reports, opinions, live updates and scores on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates throughout the ongoing event in England and Wales.

Updated Date: Jul 13, 2019 12:30:45 IST