Four suspended Congress MLCs, including former Bihar chief, 'recognised' as JD(U) members in state Assembly

Patna: The Congress on Thursday suffered a split in the Bihar Legislative Council, after former state party chief Ashok Choudhary and three other members of the Congress Legislature Party in the Upper House were recognised as members of the ruling JD(U).

Four suspended Congress MLCs, including former Bihar chief, recognised as JD(U) members in state Assembly

File photo of Ashok Choudhary. Image courtesy: Twitter/@AshokChoudhary

The four Congress MLCs — Ashok Choudhary, Dilip Choudhary, Ramchandra Bharti and Tanweer Akhtar — had on Wednesday officially sought recognition as MLCs of the JD(U), the Council's officiating chairman Haroon Rashid said.

"The application of the four Congress members has been accepted," Rashid told PTI.

The Congress earlier had six MLCs in the House.

Ashok Choudhary, along with the three, on Thursday announced they would quit the party and accused its general secretary CP Joshi of having treated them as "objects" that were supposed to be "used and thrown".

"Joshi was kind of pushing me out of the Congress," Ashok Choudhary had alleged.

State Congress president Kaukab Qadri on Thursday said the the four were expelled from the party.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Mar 01, 2018 15:38:28 IST

Also See