Five special teams to review West Bengal poll preparedness: EC

Kolkata: The Election Commission has decided to depute five special teams to review poll preparedness across 21 districts of West Bengal for the upcoming Assembly Election, an official said on Thursday.

Representational image. AP

Representational image. AP

"Five special teams will undertake comprehensive review of poll preparedness across 21 districts from 18 March to 22 March," said additional chief electoral officer Dibyendu Sarkar.

"They will make a first hand assessment of the various arrangements made by election machinery for the polls," he said.

Sarkar said the teams will submit a detailed report on 23 March.

Each of the five teams will be led by chief electoral officers of five states - Punjab, Chattisgarh, New Delhi, Himachal Pradesh and Karnataka, including four other officials - additional or deputy CEO, one Indian Police Service officer and two poll panel officials.


Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Mar 17, 2016 19:00:53 IST