Sponsored by

Expelled AAP leaders Yogendra Yadav, Prashant Bhushan launch new political party Swaraj India

New Delhi: Swaraj Abhiyan, led by former AAP leader Yogendra Yadav, on Sunday launched its political wing 'Swaraj India' on the occasion of Mahatma Gandhi's birthday.

Yadav will be the president and Ajit Jha the general secretary, the new party announced at a press briefing. Fahim Khan will be Treasurer of the party.

Earlier, on 31 July, addressing the concluding session of a two-day Abhiyan national convention, Yadav had announced the launching of the new political party by 2 October to provide an "alternative political vehicle".

 Expelled AAP leaders Yogendra Yadav, Prashant Bhushan launch new political party Swaraj India

File image of Yogendra Yadav. PTI

Later, a committee was formed to look into the details of the new political party.

Mr Yadav had said, "We were never secretive about going political. A decision to launch a political party was taken with nearly 93 per cent of the delegates at the convention overwhelmingly supporting it.

Mr Yadav, however, had clarified that Swaraj Abhiyan will continue to exist even after the new political party is launched and the two will function independently.

It had parried questions on whether the new party will contest the Assembly elections in five states, including Punjab, which are going to polls next year.

Yadav, senior Supreme Court lawyer Prashant Bhushan, Ajit Jha and Anand Kumar had fallen out with Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) convenor and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal in March last year. They had hit out at AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal questioning his "supremo style of working" and "lack of transparency" in the party.

With inputs from PTI and IANS

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on firstpost.com/elections. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Oct 02, 2016 23:24:19 IST

Also See