Diamond Harbour Lok Sabha Election Result 2019 LIVE Updates: TMC's Abhishek Banerjee wins seat

Election Result 2019 LIVE | Candidate, Constituency and Party-Wise Winner List

AITC WON Abhishek Banerjee 791,127 Votes 56% Votes
BJP Nilanjan Roy 470,533 Votes 33% Votes
CPI(M) Dr. Fuad Halim 93,941 Votes 7% Votes
INC Soumya Aich Roy 19,828 Votes 1% Votes
NOTA Nota 16,247 Votes 1% Votes
IND Subrata Bose 5,555 Votes 0% Votes
BSP Md. Goribulla Molla 2,911 Votes 0% Votes
IND Prabir Sarkar 2,744 Votes 0% Votes
SHS Santosh Kumar 2,252 Votes 0% Votes
BNRP Swarnalata Sarkar 2,018 Votes 0% Votes
SUCI Ajay Ghosh 1,846 Votes 0% Votes

Diamond Harbour Lok Sabha Constituency

Constituency number: 21

Total electors: 15,55,914 (2014 estimates)

Male electors: 8,16,259

Female electors: 7,39,655

Assembly Constituencies: Diamond Harbour, Falta, Satgachia, Bishnupur (SC), Maheshtala, Budge Budge, Metiaburuz

Reserved: No

Delimitation: Yes. In 2008. Garden Reach Assembly constituency ceased to exist.

Results in last four Lok Sabha elections: Between 1996 and 2009, Samik Lahiri of the CPM continued to win the seat. In 2009 elections, Somendra Nath Mitra of the TMC won the seat. The seat is currently being held by Abhishek Banerjee, the nephew of chief minister Mamata Banerjee.

Demographics: Metiabruz, Maheshtala and Diamond Harbour Vidhan Sabha segments have a plurality of Muslim voters, while non-Muslim voters gain primacy in rest of the Assembly segments within the Lok Sabha constituency. According to a 2009 report, Muslims may be accounting for two-fifth of the electorate in the constituency.

Your guide to the latest cricket World Cup stories, analysis, reports, opinions, live updates and scores on https://www.firstpost.com/firstcricket/series/icc-cricket-world-cup-2019.html. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates throughout the ongoing event in England and Wales.

Updated Date: May 24, 2019 16:51:48 IST