Delhi polls 2013: Congress candidates list unlikely before Friday

New Delhi: The Congress party seems to be in no hurry to announce its list of candidates for Delhi Assembly 2013. An announcement is likely only after November 7 or 8, when the Congress Election Committee (CEC) will meet to finalise the screening committee’s shortlist.

Having swept the last three assembly polls under the chief ministership of Sheila Dikshit and looking to make a comeback for a fourth time, the party is taking no chances in picking candidates that will decide its fate on December 4.

The screening committee chaired by V Narayanswamy is scheduled to meet on Wednesday (November 6) to draw-up the final shortlist.

Representational Image. PTI.

Representational Image. PTI.

According to a senior party worker, the candidates list is likely to see most of sitting MLAs re-nominated by the party to contest from their respective constituencies. However, those against whom courts have passed “adverse judgement” or in cases where complaints have been received from the constituency and anti-incumbency is a factor, MLAs have been dropped, the party worker said.

Asked whether, the list would see more youth congress candidates in the fray, he said, “We are giving due weightage to youth but winnability is main criteria, provided they are not violating the screening committee guidelines. They should not be any serious criminal cases against candidate.”

The party has received as many 1500 applications for a ticket to Delhi’s 70 assembly seats. The bulk of the ticket-seekers are for the 28 assembly seats where the Congress lost in 2008. According to a Times of India report, among constituencies which have received the highest number of applications are Babarpur, Trilokpuri and Sangam Vihar (all non-Congress) constituencies with over 60 applicants each. (Read full report here)

The screening committee has been tasked with shortlisting three names per constituency to be forwarded to CEC. Here again as per screening committee guidelines, the candidates who have lost two consecutive elections or face serious criminal cases have been disqualified.

Updated Date: Nov 04, 2013 16:29 PM

Also Watch

Watch: Firstpost test rides the new Thunderbird 500X in Goa and walks you through the Royal Enfield Garage Cafe
  • Tuesday, April 17, 2018 Varun Dhawan on Shoojit Sircar's October, 5-star reviews and working with Anushka Sharma in Sui Dhaaga
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018 Ambedkar Jayanti: Re-visiting Babasaheb's ideals exposes fake Dalit politics of Rahul Gandhi and Congress
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See