Delhi MCD bypolls: AAP, Cong win from four wards; BJP in three

New Delhi: AAP and Congress won in four wards each, while the BJP won from three wards in the MCD bypolls for 13 wards, results of which were declared on Tuesday.

Independent candidate Rajender Singh Tanwar won from Bhati ward where the maximum votes had been polled in the bypolls held on Sunday last.

AAP candidate Abhishek Bidhuri won from Tekhand ward by a margin of 1,555 votes defeating BJP candidate Sunil Verma. Other winners from the party were Ramesh from the Matiala ward, Anil Malik from Nanakpura and Ashok Kumar from Vikas Nagar ward, election officials said.

Representational image. PTI

Representational image. PTI

Congress candidate Pankaj won from the Jhilmil ward by a margin of 2,419 votes. Pankaj defeated ex-MLA and BJP candidate Jitender Singh Shunty. Congress candidate Yogita Rathi won from the women reserved seat of Munirka. The party candidates also won from Khichdipur and Qumraddin Nagar.

BJP candidate Bhupinder Mohan Bhandari won from Shalimar Bagh by a margin of 1,451 votes. Party candidate Dr Mahender Nagpal won Wazirpur ward by 3,608 votes while Nawada candidate Krishan Gehlot won by 4,843 votes.

The AAP is leading in Balimaran seat where the results are yet to come.

The bypolls to the wards falling under three corporations — SDMC (7), NDMC (4) and EDMC (2) — were necessitated due to their sitting councillors getting elected to Delhi Assembly in 2013 and 2015.

Updated Date: May 17, 2016 11:42 AM

Also See