Co-presented by

Delhi: Brisk voting across all seven Lok Sabha seats

New Delhi: Brisk voting took place on Thursday across Delhi's seven Lok Sabha constituencies, all of which were won by the Congress in 2009.

Queues were witnessed from the time polling stations opened at 7 am, and officials reported a steady turnover of voters. There was visible enthusiasm especially among middle-aged voters and senior citizens.

Voting enthusiasm was not restricted to middle class and working class areas but was also seen in affluent localities as well. The Election Commission said about 10 percent of Delhi's 12 million voters had exercised their franchise in the first two hours of balloting.

 Delhi: Brisk voting across all seven Lok Sabha seats

Delhi is ready to vote today. AP

With the emergence of the Aam Aadmi Party, Delhi is witnessing a triangular fight also involving the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress.

There are 150 candidates. There are 7,057,648 male and 5,657,785 female voters in Delhi besides 839 'others'. The city has 11,763 polling stations, of which 417 have been declared "sensitive" and 90 "hyper sensitive" -- official euphemism to mean they are trouble prone.


Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Apr 10, 2014 10:13:53 IST