Sponsored by

Delhi Assembly ruckus: Visitors hurl pamphlets against AAP leader Satyender Jain, get thrashed by MLAs

New Delhi: The Delhi Assembly on Wednesday saw a high-pitch drama as two visitors hurled pamphlets, raised slogans demanding the resignation of a minister, and, in turn, were allegedly thrashed by Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) MLAs before being sentenced to a month in jail by the speaker.

As the proceedings were going on on the first day of a two-day special session, the two, sitting in the Visitors' Gallery, threw papers in the House and jeered at health minister Satyendar Jain.

They raised slogans of 'Inquilab Zindabad' and demanded Jain's resignation.

 Delhi Assembly ruckus: Visitors hurl pamphlets against AAP leader Satyender Jain, get thrashed by MLAs

File image of Satyender Jain. News18

The two, identified as Jagdeep Rana, who had contested the 2013 Delhi Assembly elections from Adarsh Nagar, and Rajan Kumar, were whisked away immediately.

As Rana and Kumar were being taken down from the Visitors' Gallery, AAP's Lakshmi Nagar MLA Nitin Tyagi rushed out of the House, followed by other legislators.

Tyagi and AAP MLA Amanatullah Khan allegedly thrashed the duo outside the House.

Former minister and rebel AAP leader Kapil Mishra said they would have "killed" the accused if police were not called in.

Afterwords, AAP MLA Saurabh Bharadwaj moved a motion against them, which was adopted unanimously, and Speaker Ram Niwas Goel sentenced the two to one month of "rigorous" imprisonment.

The speaker also wrote to the Tihar Jail superintendent to keep the duo in custody for the period of one month.

Rana was eventually taken off for a medical examination in an ambulance and was later rushed to Aruna Asaf Ali Hospital, where he is undergoing medical tests.

A highly placed source said Rana and Kumar — "disgruntled AAP volunteer" — reportedly got an entry on passes with a reference of an AAP MLA. They came wearing headgear.

BJP MLA Manjinder Singh Sirsa demanded strict punishment against those responsible for arranging their entry.

However, Speaker said they were not allowed in because of reference of any MLA but were let in by House staff.

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal was not in the House when the incident took place.

The pamphlets, that were hurled by Rana, read that Asim Ahmed Khan was sacked as food and civil supply minister "on the basis of an audio recording" but, despite, there being "proof" against Jain, he was not being removed.

In pamphlets, the duo claimed they were AAP workers and were unhappy with the Kejriwal-led party and the "corruption cases" against Jain.

The speaker also ordered that before any MLA recommends passes for anybody wishing to enter the Assembly, he or she has to verify their antecedents and give it in writing.

AAP sources said Rana had recently "aligned" himself with rebel AAP MLA Kapil Mishra.

Contesting his debut poll in 2013 Assembly poll from Adarsh Nagar in northwest Delhi, Rana was trounced by his nearest BJP rival by 9,923 votes.


Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on firstpost.com/elections. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Jun 28, 2017 22:33:51 IST

Also See