Contradictions in Bhagwant Mann's stand on Parliament video, says LS probe panel

New Delhi: The nine-member Lok Sabha panel probing the Parliament video of AAP MP Bhagwant Mann on Wednesday said there were contradictions in his stand on the issue.

 Contradictions in Bhagwant Manns stand on Parliament video, says LS probe panel

File image of Bhagwant Mann. IBNlive

"The committee gave four opportunities to Mann to explain his stand. But there are contradictions. We are certainly taking a serious view of it," panel chairman Kirit Somaiya told reporters.

"We also want to consult a few experts to suggest measures so that such incidents do not occur in the future," he said.

On Somaiya's request, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan has granted two more weeks to the panel, which was to submit its report on 3 August.

The Speaker set up the panel on 25 July to probe the alleged breach of Parliament security by the Aam Aadmi Party leader, who on 21 July posted on Facebook a video footage of his journey from home to Parliament.

Asked what action can be taken against Mann, Somaiya said the panel will now "start the exercise of what could be done".

He also hoped that the report may be submitted by 12 August, the last day of the ongoing monsoon session of Parliament.

According to the report, Mann remained defiant when he appeared before the panel and insisted he did not breach Parliament's security.

However, on 25 July he told Speaker Mahajan that he was ready to tender an unconditional apology.

Informed sources said while no decision had been taken by the probe panel, there was unanimity that Mann was politicising the issue by dragging Prime Minister Narendra Modi into the controversy.

The panel has also taken cognisance of the letter written by three Lok Sabha members – Mahesh Girri of BJP, Prem Singh Chandumajra of the Akali Dal and suspended AAP lawmaker Harinder Singh Khalsa – demanding that Mann be sent to a rehabilitation centre for de-addiction.

Besides Somaiya, other members of the panel are Meenakshi Lekhi, Satyapal Singh, Anandrao Adsul, B Mahtab, Ratna De, Thota Narasimham, KC Venugopal and P Venugopal.

Updated Date: Aug 03, 2016 18:56:22 IST