Congress releases two Lok Sabha candidates' lists; Sanjay Nirupam, Goa unit chief Girish Chodankar among 31 names

New Delh: The Congress on Monday fielded Sanjay Nirupam from Mumbai North-West as it released two more lists of candidates, clearing 31 names for the Lok Sabha elections.

The announcement of Nirupam's candidature came on a day he was removed from the post of Mumbai Regional Congress Committee chief (MRCC). Former Union minister Milind Deora replaced Nirupam as MRCC chief.

In the first list put out on Monday, 26 candidates were announced by the party, out of which 25 were for West Bengal.

 Congress releases two Lok Sabha candidates lists; Sanjay Nirupam, Goa unit chief Girish Chodankar among 31 names

Representational image. News18

Mohammad Alam from Barrackpore, Mita Chakraborty from Kolkata Dakshin, Suvra Ghosh from Howrah, and Pratul Saha from Hooghly were among those named in the list.

In the second list, five candidates were named — two from Chhattisgarh, two from Goa and one for the Union Territory of Daman and Diu. Goa Pradesh Congress Committee president Girish Chodankar has been fielded from North Goa, while Francisco Sardinha has been fielded from South Goa parliamentary constituency.

With this, the party has announced a total of 258 candidates so far.

The Congress on Monday also named four candidates for Assembly polls in Odisha.

Biren Senapati replaced Muktikant Biswal from the Rourkela assembly constituency in Odisha, while Shambunath Panigrahi replaced Ram Krishna Panda from the Hinjili assembly seat.

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Mar 25, 2019 23:12:00 IST

Also See