Congress leads in 31, BJP in 30 seats in Uttarakhand

Dehradun: Uttarakhand today witnessed a neck-and-neck fight between BJP and Congress with the latter leading in 31 seats while the saffron party was winning in 30 seats in the 70-member Uttarakhand assembly.

Saved BJP from complete embarrassment in Uttarakhand. Image courtesy PIB

According to early trends with the Election Commission in Dehradun for 66 seats, Congress was closely following BJP by establishing a lead in 25 seats.

Uttarkhand chief minister BC Khanduri, who was initially trailing, has taken a lead of 500 votes against S S Negi of Congress in the Kotdwar seat, officials said.

The BJP opened its account from Sitarganj seat in Kumaon region when the first result went to its favour with its candidate Kiran Chand Mandal emerging the winner.

BSP is also leading in 6 seats. Uttarakhand Kranti Dal-Panwar (UKD-P) is ahead in one seat while others were leading in the rest of the five seats.

Congress leader Indira Haridayesh is leading with 4000 votes from Haldwani constituency against Renu Adhikari of BJP.

State BJP president Bishan Singh Chufal is leading by 688 votes from Didihaat constituency.


Updated Date: Mar 06, 2012 12:50 PM

Also See