Congress demolished in MP, BJP wins 27 out of 29 seats

In Madhya Pradesh out of 29 seats, Bharatiya Janata Party got 27  while Congress could only retain two. As per the data available, the vote share of BJP stood at 54 percent and that of Congress at 34.9 percent.

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan today attributed the BJP's spectacular victory in Lok Sabha polls to the charismatic leadership of Narendra Modi and a large number of "follies" committed by the Congress-led UPA government at Centre.

"Along with Modi's leadership qualities, the number of mistakes committed by the UPA helped the BJP to come to power on its own after 30 years in the nation's history," Chouhan told reporters at his residence.



Chouhan said the Congress-led UPA rule was marked by rampant corruption, inflation and lack of power in decision making, which all added to the defeat of Congress.

"The UPA government had badly discriminated against non-Congress governments. This was something which can never be accepted in a federal structure," the BJP leader said.

When asked why BJP lost in two seats in Madhya Pradesh, Chouhan replied, "It may be due to the fact that Congress MPs there have done some work." Union Minister Kamal Nath retained his traditional Chhindwara seat by defeating his nearest BJP rival Chouhdary Chandrabhan Singh by 1,16,537 votes. Union Minister and Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia defeated BJP rival and former Bajrang Dal chief Jaibhan Singh Pawaiya by 1.27 lakh votes in Guna constituency.

Senior BJP leader Sushma Swaraj also retained her Vidisha Lok Sabha seat in Madhya Pradesh by a margin of 4,10,698 votes.

Madhya Pradesh BJP president Narendra Singh Tomar too won from Gwalior seat by a margin of 29,699 votes, defeating Ashok Singh of Congress in a close contest. Tomar secured 4,42,796 votes while Ashok Singh polled 4,13,097 votes.

Senior Congress leader and former state chief minister (late) Arjun Singh's son Ajay Singh lost to sitting MP Ganesh Singh from Satna seat by a narrow margin of 8,688 votes.

While Singh bagged 3,75,288 votes, Ajay polled 3,66,600 votes. BJP's Manohar Untwal wrested Dewas from Congress by defeating sitting MP Sajjan Singh Verma by an impressive margin of 2,60,313 votes. Untwal secured 6,65,646 votes while Verma got 4,05,333 votes.

From Betul, BJP's sitting MP Jyoti Dhurve retained her seat by a margin of 3,28,614 votes, trouncing Ajay Shah (Congress). Dhurve got 6,43,651 votes while Shah secured 3,15,037 votes.

Former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee's nephew and ex-minister, Anoop Mishra clinched victory on Morena seat by defeating BSP's Brindawan Singh Sikarwar by a margin of 1,32,981 votes.

Mishra got 3,75,567 votes while Sikarwar bagged 2,42,586 votes. Congress' Govind Singh is relegated to third position with 1,84,253 votes.

BJP's Riti Pathak defeated Indrajeet Kumar (Congress) from Sidhi seat by a margin of 1,08,046 votes. Pathak got 4,75,678 votes while Patel managed to get 3,67,632 votes.

Former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister and BJP leader Uma Bharti wins Jhansi seat defeating nearest rival Chandrapal Singh of SP by a margin of 19,0467 votes.

BJP's Rao Uday Pratap Singh won from Hoshangabad seat in Madhya Pradesh by a handsome margin of 3,89,960 votes by defeating his Congress rival Devendra Patel.

In Madhya Pradesh, the BJP which had won the assembly elections hands down just about five months ago had targeted a sweep of all 29 Lok Sabha seats. It held 16 seats in the outgoing House, the BSP one and the rest went to the Congress. The BJP had exceeded own expectations winning 165 of the 230 assembly seats in November. The Congress was stuck at 58.

Updated Date: May 17, 2014 01:12 AM

Also See