Congress announces candidates for Meghalaya, Tripura polls; Mukul Sangma to contest from two seats

New Delhi: The Congress on Saturday released the names of its candidates for the Meghalaya and Tripura Assembly elections to be held next month, with Meghalaya Chief Minister Mukul Sangma contesting from two seats.

The party released a list of 57 candidates in Meghalaya and 56 in Tripura. The strength of the two assemblies is 60 members each.

Representational image. AFP

Representational image. AFP

The Congress is seeking to come back to power in Meghalaya and ousting the CPM in Tripura where the Left front has been in power for the last 25 years.

According to the list, the Meghalaya chief minister will be contesting from Songsak and Ampathi constituencies.

Tripura will go to polls on 18 February, followed by Nagaland and Meghalaya on 27 February.

The counting of votes will take place in three states on 3 March.

Updated Date: Jan 27, 2018 19:23 PM

Also Watch

Watch: Firstpost test rides the new Thunderbird 500X in Goa and walks you through the Royal Enfield Garage Cafe
  • Tuesday, April 17, 2018 Varun Dhawan on Shoojit Sircar's October, 5-star reviews and working with Anushka Sharma in Sui Dhaaga
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018 Ambedkar Jayanti: Re-visiting Babasaheb's ideals exposes fake Dalit politics of Rahul Gandhi and Congress
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See