Budget 2018: AAP boycotts President's speech in Parliament to protests against disqualification of MLAs

New Delhi: AAP MPs on Monday boycotted President Ram Nath Kovind's address to a joint sitting of the Parliament on the first day of the Budget Session, as a protest against the disqualification of 20 party MLAs.

AAP. Representational image. Reuters

Representational image. Reuters

Aam Aadmi Party Lok Sabha members Sadhu Singh, Bhagwant Mann and Rajya Sabha members Sanjay Singh, Sushil Gupta and ND Gupta raised slogans near a Gandhi statue in the Parliament premises, holding placards.

They were protesting against a sealing drive in Delhi, the Central government's decision of allowing FDI in single-brand retail and the Election Commission's decision to disqualify 20 Delhi AAP MLAs.

The Members of Parliament (MPs) shouted: "will not allow dictatorship in democracy".

Referring to the disqualification of MLAs, Sanjay Singh told reporters "there cannot be two laws in the country".

The AAP leader said in other states when the high court cancelled the appointment of Parliamentary Secretaries, their MLA membership was not cancelled.

Earlier this month, the EC recommended to the president to disqualify 20 MLAs for holding the office-of-profit as Parliamentary Secretaries in Delhi and it was later approved.

The three AAP Rajya Sabha MPs took oath earlier in the day.

Updated Date: Jan 29, 2018 14:24 PM

Also Watch

Watch: Firstpost test rides the new Thunderbird 500X in Goa and walks you through the Royal Enfield Garage Cafe
  • Tuesday, April 17, 2018 Varun Dhawan on Shoojit Sircar's October, 5-star reviews and working with Anushka Sharma in Sui Dhaaga
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018 Ambedkar Jayanti: Re-visiting Babasaheb's ideals exposes fake Dalit politics of Rahul Gandhi and Congress
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See