Sponsored by

BJP's BS Yeddyurappa to contest 2018 Assembly polls from North Karnataka instead of Shikaripura

Bengaluru: Karnataka BJP president BS Yeddyurappa will contest from North Karnataka instead of Shikaripura in the 2018 Assembly polls, his media adviser said on Sunday.

The former chief minister took this decision in the interest of the party after the central leadership suggested him to contest from North Karnataka, the Lingayat leader's media adviser Anand Vijayender told PTI in Bengaluru.

 BJPs BS Yeddyurappa to contest 2018 Assembly polls from North Karnataka instead of Shikaripura

File image of BJP Karnataka president BS Yeddyurappa. PTI

However, no decision has been taken about the Assembly constituency from which he will contest, Vijayender said.

"Yedduyurappa readily gave in to the central leadership's suggestion as his interests are in line with the BJP's," he said.

According to political observers, the decision of Yeddyurappa to contest from North Karnataka is to counter the Congress' strategy to divide Lingayat votes by raising the issue of separate religion tag to Lingayats.

A majority of the Lingayat community resides in northern parts of Karnataka and mostly vote for the BJP in assembly and Lok Sabha elections.

Shikaripura, which falls in Shimoga district of central Karnataka, has been Yeddyurappa's bastion for long.

He has won the Shikaripura seat since its conversion from reserve constituency to general category from 1983 for six times up to 2008, when he bagged the seat with a huge margin against political stalwart and former chief minister late S Bangarappa, except in 1999.

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on firstpost.com/elections. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Sep 17, 2017 20:18:05 IST

Also See